Alister Henskens portrait
Alister Henskens portrait

Changes to our Local Electorate

Outline Map of Wahroonga Electorate

The electorate in which you will vote in the NSW State election on 25 March 2023 will be different, even if your address has not changed.

After every second State election the NSW Electoral Commission is required by law to undertake a process of redistribution to ensure that each of the State’s 93 Electorates have approximately the same number of voters. This is an independent process not determined by the NSW Government. It takes effect from the date of the State election in March.

In the most recent redistribution many electorates have changed boundaries and four electorates have new names, including the Ku-ring-gai Electorate which will be renamed Wahroonga. The renaming convention is to use the name of one of the suburbs within the electorate.

The Wahroonga Electorate will include the suburbs of Pymble*, West Pymble, Turramurra*, South Turramurra, Warrawee, Wahroonga, North Wahroonga, Waitara, Hornsby*, Asquith*, Normanhurst, Thornleigh, Westleigh, and Pennant Hills* (*part suburb).

The redistribution impacts State electorates only. It does not change the name or boundaries of Ku-ring-gai Council, Hornsby Shire Council, or the Federal Electorates of Bradfield or Berowra.

‘Wahroonga’ means ‘our home’ and we are indeed fortunate to have our home in this community.

More information about the redistribution process and outcome is available on the NSW Electoral Commission website at