Alister Henskens portrait
Alister Henskens portrait

Ku-ring-gai Community Encouraged To Nominate For 2016 NSW Women Of The Year Awards

Women of the Year Awards Tile

Member for Ku-ring-gai Alister Henskens SC MP today said the search has begun for outstanding Ku-ring-gai women to be recognised, with the nominations for the fifth annual NSW Women of the Year Awards now open.

Mr Henskens is calling on Ku-ring-gai to nominate impressive women from all walks of life who deserve recognition for their outstanding achievements.

“In every NSW community there are women who stand out with inspiring success stories,” Mr Henskens said.

“The NSW Women of the Year Awards are a chance for the NSW Government and the community to officially recognise the phenomenal contribution they make.”

Five categories are open for nominations.

  • NSW Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year
  • A.H. Beard’s Community Hero Award
  • Rex’s Regional Woman of the Year
  • Harvey Norman’s Young Woman of the Year Award
  • NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year Award

Winners will join an honour-roll of inspirational alumni, including leading researcher Professor Minoti Apte, social entrepreneur Lana Borg and School for Life Foundation founder Annabelle Chauncy.

Mr Henskens said now is the time to nominate an impressive woman you know.

“Don’t miss out on acknowledging a remarkable woman from our community. Entries close 13th January 2016 – so start nominating!” Mr Henskens said.

A ceremony for the 2016 winners will be held on 9 March 2016 at Parliament House with The Premier, Mike Baird.

Nominations can be made at