Alister Henskens portrait
Alister Henskens portrait

Vote Now To Support Ku-ring-gai's Dr Leng Tan

Associate Professor Payal Mukherjee

Member for Ku-ring-gai, Alister Henskens SC MP, is encouraging the Ku-ring-gai community to support local Dr Leng Tan, who has been named as one of the finalists of the 2019 NSW Woman of the Year Awards.

“I want to congratulate Dr Tan for her amazing contributions to our community, and I urge everyone in Ku-ring-gai to take a look at her story online and show their support by submitting a vote,” Mr Henskens said.

“Dr Tan is a worthy candidate for the Community Hero Award and I am thrilled her achievements have been recognised.”

Dr Tan was selected for her work as a medical professional, community leader and humanitarian ambassador with an altruistic volunteering spirit. For over 40 years, she has assisted various disadvantaged groups in the community.

Along with caring for her patients, she currently serves as the Emeritus Chairperson of Chinese Australian Services Society (CASS) Board of directors, in which capacity she has strived to provide services such as family day care, home and residential aged care and disability services, tailored to meet the needs of the community. Today, CASS serves over 2,600 families per week.

With a mission to fight for people’s welfare, Dr Tan has volunteered her medical services overseas. For many years, through her involvement with Eyes on China, she has provided free cataract surgeries to people in remote communities, changing the lives of hundreds of people with the gift of sight.

Mr Henskens also acknowledged another local woman, Associate Professor Payal Mukherjee, who is one of the four finalists for the Premier’s Woman of the Year Award.

“Professor Mukherjee is another outstanding contributor to both the community and the medical profession, who is as respected for her passion about education and research and for driving cultural change as she is for her medical expertise,” Mr Henskens said.

Professor Mukherjee is an adult and paediatric surgeon who practises at both the San Hospital and Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, specialising in ear surgery and cochlear implantation. She is also the Deputy Chair of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons NSW State Committee, a Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Sydney and an Adjunct Professor at the University of Wollongong.

She is committed to mentoring children and junior doctors into pursuing careers in surgery and medical technology and is a strong advocate for gender equity in the workforce and educational institutions.

“While members of the public cannot vote for the Premier’s Woman of the Year,“ said Mr Henskens, “I trust that all Ku-ring-gai residents will join me in congratulating Professor Mukherjee and wishing her good luck for when the winner is announced in March. She is a wonderful doctor doing great things”

Indicating that she was surprised and humbled by the nomination, Professor Mukherjee spoke very positively of the Women of the Year Awards.

“Although these Awards celebrate people, they have a larger purpose, namely giving exposure to women in occupations that have traditionally been male-dominated. I applaud the initiative and I hope that my nomination will inspire more girls and young women to train as surgeons.”


Minister for Women Tanya Davies announced that young female entrepreneurs, humanitarian ambassadors and cancer researchers are among the 28 finalists who have been nominated for the Awards ahead of the inaugural NSW Women’s Week. 

“The Awards celebrate the extraordinary contributions of NSW women, and by casting a vote individuals not only help to recognise the finalists’ outstanding achievements, but also highlight their stories to inspire other women,” Mrs Davies said.

“This year’s finalists are just a handful of the thousands of women who make a difference in our communities, and I urge everyone across NSW to show their support by viewing these remarkable stories online and submitting their vote.”

Finalists are listed in the following 2019 Awards categories, which are now open to the public for online voting:

  • Community Hero Award,
  • Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year Award,
  • Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year Award,
  • NSW Business Woman of the Year Award, and
  • First State Super Lifetime Achievement Award.

To submit your vote, or read more about the finalists, visit:

Voting closes on 15 February, with winners to be announced at the 2019 NSW Women of the Year Awards at the International Convention Centre Sydney on 7 March.